Just recently I was lamenting how Korean dramas are becoming emptier and one-dimensional. It’s always the same family objection + poor girl meets rich guy + love rectangle plot line that is appearing in every single kdrama, even the more popular ones. I get the feeling the scriptwriters are really tearing out their hair to get something refreshing out.

 

Alas! (Or should I say, finally) THANK YOU has rejuvenated my love for Korean dramas. It has reminded me the essence of Korean drama which was what made me a Kdrama fan girl – how it can portray character and relationships so naturally and make them feel so… real, such that it makes you laugh and cry without even realizing it.

I shouldn’t say that Thank You is an under-rated Kdrama because it received the highest rating amongst the three dramas broadcast during the same period (the other two being Witch Amusement and Devil). But I dare say that it definitely is not getting the attention it deserves. Personally I feel that this is because many people who are tempted to watch the drama are turned off (at least a little) by the fact that it involves an unwed mother and a child with HIV. I, myself plead guilty to this at first.

Thankfully, I overcame my initial doubt and had a go at it. I fell in love with the drama right from the first episode, which builds like a rolling snowball as the story progresses. I like the relationship between Young Shin (Gong Hyo Jin) and her daughter Bom. Sometimes they’re mother and daughter; sometimes they seem like friends. Young Shin is a naïve person and at times she is more like the child than Bom. I like the simple romance story that started with forgiveness and trust.  I like the sideline characters because they portray friendship and care. When Bom says that nobody wants to marry Young Shin because of her, Young Shin retorts that “those who want to marry me because of Bom, there are at least 10 of them!” … “I’ll get them to queue up before you!”

I like cute moments such as this because it teaches me that life’s simplest pleasures come from none other than family. The storyline is not exceptional but under the director’s careful handling and excellent performance by the talented cast, the story presented to us is beautiful, sweet and thought-provoking.

 

 

02.jpg 

 

 

Comments
  1. thankyou says:

    omg this drama was well rated but i think it’s underrated. this is one of the BEST kdramas ever. my favorite so far!!

  2. lizzy says:

    I really agree with you, THANK YOU is one of the best K-dramas I’ve ever seen. Bravo for the THANK YOU team!!!!

  3. o-cha says:

    Defnitely one of the best K-dramas out there. Superb screenplay, excellent director, and perfect casting (from the main leads to the side characters).

  4. jp4675 says:

    My favorite K-drama, period.

  5. Vi says:

    i was bored so i watched Coffee Prince cause its sooo popular but i was disappointed, i didn’t like very much. (same with Goong)

    anyways, I accidently watch Thank You music video on YouTube and i immediately fell in love with it. I watched the 16 eps drama in 2 1/2 days.

  6. NewJangHyukFan says:

    A very touching and entertaining movie!!!

  7. Scorpio1030 says:

    LOVE THIS SHOW… I have watched it at least 10 times. I taped it and bought the DVD (it had really, really bad subtitles). I pre ordered the DVD when MBC announced they would release it. I threw out the DVD w/ the bad subtitles (sorry to say can’t speak or understand Korean)because it’s not doing justice on this show. I have been recommending this show to all my friends.
    It should get alot of recognition but some people are ignorant & don’t want to watch it because of the AIDS storyline.
    I hope there will be PART II. It would be very interesting to see how they will follow up with the story. And, I hope the original cast will be back.

  8. shellie says:

    i totally agreed with you!

    i was skeptical at first because of typical kdramas. i’d just finished watching “time of dog and wolf” and love it for its not-so-typical kdrama plot.

    i finally gave this a go and love it right from the start. like you, i love the the characters are portrayed and how they are trying to protect the little girl but unfortunately there always come a time when you cannot.

    the little girl is so wonderful you can’t help laughing with you in the funny moments and crying with her as the ugly truth is reveal. it’s definitely heart-breaking but a very good drama.

    sorry for the long post. i love the series too but am not sure yet if i want to rewatch it as i cried a lot. 😉

  9. bom saranghe says:

    i love this drama…chinca

  10. Wen says:

    I love this drama ‘thank you’…

    Initially was taken back as story about unwed mother and a HIV child…
    My 1st impression was ‘oh no, the typical korean sad ending drama’…
    So when the vcd/dvd was lauched…totally not interested.

    It was only when it was telecast on tv and I was boring so I watch the 1st episode…Immediate being drawn to it… especially by the actress Kong Hyo Jin and the little actor…

    Totally agreed that this drama is underrated…

  11. McJayJay says:

    i was one of the people that was a bit turned off by the idea of the drama, but like you, i fell in love after one episode. it is THE best drama ever, and i love it so much!

Leave a Reply

