Hong Gil Dong

Posted: December 27, 2007 in Drama News, Korean Drama
Tags: , ,

             

                               

I know I have been almost blatantly avoiding posting news of MBC’s ‘Hong Gil Dong’, while posting rather frequently on SBS’s ‘Robber’. And the reason why is because I never had any interest in Korean’s historical dramas. (I couldn’t even enjoy Dae Jang Geum, which was a superhit.) I know Hong Gil Dong will be trendier, but it IS a historical drama after all.

         

I know that most people who are looking out for this drama are either fans of the story or the male lead Kang Ji Hwan. But the reason why I am finally posting about this show, is Sung Yuri. After watching Snow Queen earlier this year, I was totally looking forward to her next production! I feel bad for saying this but I was a little annoyed that it had to be a historical drama. But well, they usually enjoy higher ratings in Korea.

          

Sung Yuri at Hong Gil Dong’s press conference

            

Why I admire Sung Yuri so much is something that puzzles myself even. She, together with Song Hye Kyo, is one of those actresses whom I really can’t be very bothered about whether their acting skills are top-notch. But at least I don’t claim anything. I don’t try to cheat myself into believing that my favourite actresses are the best actresses alive.

             

I know many people criticise her acting, but I think sometimes they enjoy themselves so much criticising that they get carried away. Worse still, the opinion is so deep rooted in their subconscious mind that they don’t bother to even update their judgments should there be any improvements on the actress’ part.

                

                            

Enough ranting. Regardless, I’ll still keep an open mind and look forward to Hong Gil Dong’s premiere, which will be next week 2nd of Jan.

             

     

pics credit: newsen

Comments
  1. malisa says:

    sung yu ri is the best!!

  2. polly says:

    i love yuri in HGD very much, very funny and cute.

  3. polly says:

    she is very cute and pretty in this historical drama. talk abt her acting, i find her very talented too.

  4. jules says:

    sung yuri is awesome, especially in hong gil dong! also loved her in snow queen!

  5. Rong says:

    i love HGD. please watch it cos SYR is quite amazing in the show although she looks a bit off in the start. she’s a rather good crier… hee…

  6. j says:

    i love hong gil dong it is the best series ever! also it is on kbs, mbc has new heart the ratings whore.

  7. jewel says:

    i love kang ji hwan and Sung Yu Ri

  8. Rai says:

    this dramma so fun and great ^^

    I found this page called KpopVideo.com, they have a big collection of Kang Ji hwan pictures and videos. Check it out yourself

  9. lanie says:

    ilove the way your crying in hong gil dong your the best and best actor

  10. temmy says:

    I love HGD. i want to see again. I was seeing that film when I cried. I LOVE YOU KANG JI HWAN

Leave a Reply

