CONTINUED FROM PART I
   
Noh Hee Kyung / 노희경
  
 
 
The World That They Live In (KBS2, 2008), Several Questions That Make Us Happy (KBS2, 2007), Goodbye Solo (KBS2, 2006), More Beautiful Than a Flower (KBS2, 2004), Solitude (KBS2, 2002), Did We Really Love (MBC, 1999), Lie (KBS,1998) 
 
 
 
        .
 
I have not watched any of her dramas to completion but I’ve heard that Goodbye Solo is a writer’s drama so maybe I’ll check it out. The World That They Live In was the only drama of hers that I actively sought to watch but failed ‘cos I found it pretty boring honestly. That may not be an indication of poor writing, just to clarify. Watching a drama online to completion needs a LOT of willpower, it’s a lot more difficult than watching it on TV. So, be understanding.

 

 

Kang Eun Kyung / 강은경 

Powerful Opponents (KBS2, 2008), Oh Dal Ja’s Spring (KBS2, 2007), Hello, God (KBS2, 2006), Oh! Pil Seung And Bong Soon Young (KBS2, 2004), Good Person (MBC, 2003), Glass Slippers (SBS, 2002), Hotelier (MBC, 2001) 

I’ve blogged about Powerful Opponents here. I WILL catch Dal Ja’s Spring ONE DAY. Ahh speaking of Glass Slippers makes me go down memory lane. If you wondered whether So Ji Sub was always so awesome after watching MISA, the answer is YES. He made me cry tons in Glass Slippers and Kim Hyun Joo’s most memorable role was actually in this one. And interestingly, Kang Eun Kyung does like to cast Chae Rim a lot! (since strong writers like her should have a say in the casting)
 
ROMANTIC-COMEDY
          .   
Hong Mi Ran, Hong Jung Eun 
 
(picture of the sisters with Park Shin Hye)
 
You’re Beautiful (SBS, 2009), Hong Gil Dong (KBS, 2008), Fantasy Couple (MBC, 2006), My Girl (SBS, 2005), Delightful Girl Chun-hyang (KBS, 2005)
 
  
 
I enjoy the Hong sisters’ brand of romantic-comedies but the genre itself doesn’t strike a chord with me. If  a particular episode interests me I’ll look it up, otherwise I tend to stick to recaps. Or I may watch it for a particular star hehe. I think I’m rather odd – I prefer watching shows that make me cry to those that make me laugh. Not that I don’t like to be amused.. just that I laugh and forget, I think.
 
  
  
FAMILY DRAMA
 
I’m just trying to be inclusive here, even though I try not to go near dramas that are over, say 50 episodes.
 
Kim Soo Hyun / 김수현
 

 

Mom Has Grown Horns (KBS2, 2008), Winter Bird (MBC, 2007), My Man’s Woman (SBS, 2007), Snow Flower (SBS, 2006), Love and Ambition (SBS, 2006), Precious Family (KBS2, 2004), Perfect Love (SBS, 2003), Who’s My Love (KBS2, 2002), Fireworks (SBS, 2000), Trap of Youth (SBS, 1999)  

 

I’ve watched Precious Family on TV cos of my parents’ addiction to this drama. It’s a heartwarming family drama! I feel guilty writing so little about Kim Soo Hyun who is undoubtedly one of the most respectable screenwriters, both in terms of experience and the quality of her work. Trap of Youth -I watched on TV when I was in grade 5 or 6- was a very popular early hit about revenge and featured Korean top actress, Shim Eun Ha.

Jo Jung Sun / 조정선  

The Sons of Sol Pharmacy House (KBS2, 2009), Golden Era of Daughter in Law (KBS2, 2007)  

 

THRILLER / HISTORICAL DRAMA 

Is it no surprise that male writers tend to score better in this genre?

Jung Ha Yeon / 정하연
 
  
 
Bittersweet Life (MBC, 2008), Shin Don (MBC, 2005), Wife (KBS2, 2003), Empress Myung Sung (KBS2, 2001)
 
 
Yesh I will get down to watching his classics when I’m ready to watch something meaty, uninterrupted.
 
 
Choi Wan Kyu / 최완규
 
 
IRIS (KBS2, 2009), Swallow the Sun (SBS, 2009), General Hospital 2 (MBC, 2008), The Kingdom of The Winds (KBS2, 2008), Gourmet (MBC, 2008), Lobbyist (SBS, 2007), The Book of Three Han (MBC, 2006), Love Story in Harvard (SBS, 2004), All In (SBS, 2003), Sangdo (MBC, 2002), Huh Joon (MBC, 1999) 
 
 
 

 

 
What a huge collection! One of the most notable screenwriters producing blockbusters (All In, Iris) and Sageuks (Huh Joon, The Book of Three Han). I don’t really like thrillers so neither All In nor Iris worked for me.. Love Story in Harvard is probably one of his least successful dramas but is the only one I watched avidly. The fact that it featured the Harvard campus helped :p

Any requests for a Part III? 🙂

 

Comments
  1. Gwyneth Liew says:

    Yes, please 🙂

    I myself haven’t given much thoughts about script writer’s, especially in asian dramas as I focused solely on actors and actresses that are casted. But now that I’ve watched goodbye solo, and completely fallen in love with the cast and characters they play, I have to say otherwise. Noh Hee Kyung did an awesome job writing goodbye solo. The characters had life, they had characters. Unlike most kdramas that rely of storylines running such as birth secrets (relying on the timing of the revealing of the secret OH ) as well as other cliche plots most kdramas use, Goodbye Solo actually exploits its’ characters. Taking Chun Jung Myung’s character Min Ho as an example. He is borned as an illegitimate son in a rich family. That is a common plot used. However, they don’t use that arc and make a huge scene about it, he simply just accepts the fact. It is the Mother’s reaction tho, that is interesting, she feels guilty about her affair (my opinion) and thus stops communicating with her husband, even though her husband does not blame her and still loves Min Ho as his own blood. I love this show as much as well.. I can actually say this is the best Kdrama I’ve ever watched. Subtle hints of expressions that just somehow end up pulling at your heart, it is truly amazing. I’ve heard that Worlds that they live in was boring though, and that makes me wonder. But Goodbye Solo definitely made me love Noh Hee Kyung as a writer 🙂 And yes, I am convincing you to watch Goodbye Solo lol…

    Part III please? <3<3<3<3

    • shadowlesslight says:

      Hahah wow that was a good attempt at “selling” Goodbye Solo! Yeah I know that GS has been branded as a “writer’s drama” and Noh Hee Kyung is famed for her complex characters. I went to look it up after harbouring a crush on Chun Jung Myung from Cinderella’s Sister but couldn’t find a HD streaming version of it online so I gave up 😥

      As for a part III, I’ll do it if I chance upon more awesome dramas with awesome writing! Hahahah. Thanks for your support!!! 🙂 🙂

  2. GeronL says:

    Hey, how would someone contact a Kdrama writer? I have a good idea, I bet they could make money on it. They’d have to add everything and write it of course, I’m not asking for anything.

  3. Mahadzir says:

    My question is.. how do they work? They write alone or they have few writers to help them?

Leave a Reply

